~ Just Beneath the Surface: Landon’s Story
With a heartbreaking history of family abuse, neglect, denial and death, Landon Adams’ most prized possession is control. Well-to-do, gallant, and beautiful, on the surface, Landon is like a portrait of perfection. A cryptic portrait, where something sinister lies in waiting. When Seven Dickinson, a wayward beauty with a hot head and sharp tongue, captures his heart, she is instantly under Landon’s spell. 
Almost like a wounded bird, Landon rescues her, takes her in, and saves her from, well, herself. As she starts to spread her wings, Seven challenges Landon’s ideals of perfection, bringing about a darkness neither of them are prepared to battle, and only one of them will walk away untarnished. But with Landon, be careful – you don’t know you’ve been broken until you’ve already been swept away. 
“… Landon kissed the back of her neck and tightened the cord, again. ‘No, not you, brown eyes. Never. I’d never kill, again,'”
Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Uneasy and Compelling!, April 1, 2014
By
The Kindle Book Review (Indianapolis, IN)
The character R H Ramey has created really draws you in. Landon is a good looking guy who is rich and intelligent, but as the title suggests there is something lying just beneath the surface. He starts a relationship with Seven which starts off well but then he becomes controlling and abusive towards her. The subject is a difficult one to talk or write about and R H Ramsey does this really well and creates a gritty, sad and emotional read, through her great writing style.
It is an edgy read, a roller coaster of emotions, I felt quite uneasy but gripped by the storyline. Seven and Landon are complex characters well written and I did not see the end coming! The story draws you in although you do not want to be, and stays with you long after the book is finished. I look forward to reading more from this author.Barbara Goldie from the Kindle Book Review
The Kindle Book Review received a free copy of this book for an independent, fair, and honest review. We are not associated with the author or Amazon

4.0 out of 5 stars Just Beneath the Surface II: Landon’s Story by R.H. Ramsey, February 18, 2014
This review is from: Just Beneath the Surface II: Landon’s Story (Kindle Edition)
Seven is a girl whose exotic beauty and harsh attitude attracts all the wrong men. Landon is a man in control of himself and his world, almost robotic in his approach to life. They both have repeated the same patterns of behavior over and over with no difference in result. When they find each other, it seems like a way for them both to start over. Yet is it ever really that easy…?JUST BENEATH THE SURFACE II: LANDON’S STORY deals with some very disturbing situations told in a haunting voice. I didn’t like Seven and I didn’t like Landon, but they were very compelling and complex characters. Issues of identity, abuse, and control have wound their way through Seven and Landon’s lives from an early age. They are two people who are severely damaged, but don’t know how to escape the cycle. Seven shows all her flaws, while Landon takes great pains to keep his under wraps. The author is able to show the gritty truth beneath the lies in a way which makes the very unlikable characters sympathetic to readers. JUST BENEATH THE SURFACE II: LANDON’S STORY will evoke very strong feelings in each reader, which is the sign of a great story.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read Especially Teens Who Are in an Unhealthy Relationship – I Highly Recommend this Book, February 13, 2014
By
Just Beneath the Surface II was an eye opener because there are so many people who don’t know what it is like to experience a healthy relationship including the younger generation.When you meet Landon, you will seem drawn too him because handsome, charming, well-educated, and he has tons of money. As the story unfolds, Ramsey will start to peel the layers off and reveal the deeper, true side of Landon. He meets Seven, a wild, crazy, unruly girl, who is charmed by Landon’s generosity and caring nature. In fact, I think that Landon see Seven as the girl that he can try to change but in reality we all know that you can’t change a person unless they are openly and willing to change for themselves.Seven is attracted to his charming personality and starts dating him. After dating him for a while, she finds out that he isn’t so charming. In fact, he is controlling and mentally abusive. When Seven tries to move on from the relationship, he makes promises that he won’t keep for long. This is how most abusive relationships happen in real life. The abuser will act out,then apologize to their victim, and make promises to change their behavior.

While this is difficult content to read, especially, if you have been in this type of unhealthy relationship it bring back a flood of memories. Ramsey does a great job portraying the reality of describing the realities of a very difficult subject. As a parent, I hope that my kids don’t find themselves in an unhealthy relationship and if they do I hope that they will be smart enough to get out.

5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Read!, January 13, 2014
By
In Just Beneath the Surface II: Landon’s story, Author Rhonda Ramsey skillfully exposes the fact that what appears to be true may in fact be just smoke and mirrors.
Landon, the character who the book is named for seems to have it all; he’s devastatingly good looking, well-educated, cultured and rich. He has high standards both for himself and for the people around him.On the other hand, Seven is just the opposite – a wild, unruly girl, the only thing she has going for her is her exotic beauty. Her unusual looks attract a lot of attention, but from the wrong kind of men. Fed up with a life that’s going nowhere fast, Seven is intrigued by Landon and more importantly, by Landon’s interest in her. Seeking redemption from her past, she makes certain choices which initially give her the things she wants. However, as time goes on, it becomes clear that what she thinks is real is merely a distortion, cloaked in secrets and lies.The author’s writing style is very compelling and this book kept me engaged from beginning to end. In Ms. Ramsey’s hands, these two characters come alive and jump off the page. I was alternately frustrated and sympathetic to the major characters and the end left me hanging, eager to read the next installment of this saga.

At times, the characters seemed caught in a loop where they repeated behaviors that I expected them to have moved past. However, that’s stays true to reality; change is hard and it’s usually easier to stay in the familiar and comfortable than to risk the uncertain.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book – my very first one from this author and certainly not the last.

5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-Opening Psychological Thriller, December 27, 2013
By
Lori Zalewski (Illinois, USA)
Lusty Penguin Reviews!
Presenting the subject of domestic violence is never easy, but R.H. Ramsey masterfully writes another eye-opening psychological thriller in Just Beneath the Surface II: Landon’s Story, the second book in the Just Beneath the Surface series.
Ramsey tells this story through the eyes of each of the main characters: Landon Adams and Seven Dickerson.The following quote from the novel is the perfect description for the series, “ Imagine seeing a picture so beautiful, that you had to see it up close. Once you get close enough to see—I mean, really see—the picture is wrong in every way: dishes in the fireplace, foil in the microwave, broken glass everywhere. Don’t let me sway you or anything. Do what you wanna’ do. It’s just—some things are beautiful from afar, but at some point, you have to realize nothing is what it seems. Everything’s all wrong.” In this case, the main character, Landon, seems like the perfect guy—protective, straightforward, and a bit eccentric. But, beneath the surface, Landon is a monster. Seven is an interesting character as well. On the surface, she is beautiful, but she is hard headed and temperamental, which means she’s violent when confronted. Although I found it difficult to become emotionally attached to either character, I couldn’t help but be captivated by their completely dysfunctional relationship. Landon is truly a monster because he is fully aware of what he is doing to Seven, making it very interesting to be his in head during the story. I also found it fascinating to see Seven occasionally comprehend that Landon was manipulating her, and I kept hoping she would come to her senses and leave him for good. But, love can cloud one’s judgment, and sometimes people just keep making the same mistakes over and over again.Ramsey does a consummate job of handling the various emotions of the main characters. Even knowing that I wasn’t reading a romance with a guaranteed happy ending, I was still shocked with the stunning cliffhanger ending I just didn’t see coming! Just Beneath the Surface II: Landon’s Story is a nail-biting thriller that is impossible to put down. I, for one, am looking forward to Ramsey continuing this story soon. Very soon.

I received an eBook copy of the book from the author for the purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

5.0 out of 5 stars Landon: Love Him or Hate Him?, December 8, 2013
Landon is that guy that (as a single girl) you long to meet…then once you get him you aren’t quite sure why you wanted him. He is so complex, mysterious, deep, passionate…God…but then it’s like that part that you just don’t want to deal with.I loved this book because Landon is the kind of guy I have met over and over again in real life. Ramsey has created a character that haunted me for days after I read the book, partially because I “knew” him and more because when it was over I wanted more of him!I am giving this book 5 stars because I love a book that sucks me in and won’t let me go. I read it quickly because I was stuck in the plot. I’m going to read it again and savor each and every confusing minute. (The book is not confusing…but the characters and their actions…wow)

Enjoy Landon’s story, I know I did! Congrats R.H. Ramsey on another great tale!

4.0 out of 5 stars Layered characters, Ramsey’s Trademark!, November 29, 2013
I received an ARC of JBTS2 and though the polarizing characters, that I didn’t personally identify with, aren’t likable, they stuck with me for days. The novel starts off slow, as the relationship drama builds and sets up, but you can see that–you guessed it–there’s something ‘just beneath the surface’ once again. Landon is one of the creepiest characters I’ve ever read on a page, but I wanted to feel sorry for him. And that’s a sign of talented writing. Well done, RH Ramsey. You’ve done it again.

5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting…., November 28, 2013
“Just Beneath the Surface 2” is not a continuation of the story told in the first novel. Ramsey, in her new outing, brings us newly tragic characters with uniquely different and frequently chilling problems. Whatever I expected going into this novel, I did not expect the story that Ramsey expertly unravels. “Just Beneath the Surface” is exactly what it implies. You’ve known these people or heard of them or seen them but little can you imagine the turmoil and real dysfunction that boils in their soul.As the novel developed I didn’t want to feel sorry for either of the main characters. Seven was a woman who would snap if you looked at her sideways. I was watching the VH-1 show “Mama Drama” the other night and she would have fit perfectly with the cast. Seven is vividly written. I know this woman. I may never before known what she was thinking or have known why she did what she did but like the people in Seven’s life, I would have been tempted to not think beyond what was going on and refer to her as crazy. Landon is a more complicated prospect but no less expertly written. He has suffered a deep trauma. Not only was he abused as a child but throughout his life he has been judged and maligned and because of that he chooses women who he perceives as needing him desperately. The story opens with his coming home to find his drug addicted girlfriend overdosing and going through a clearly time worn ritual of shocking her and then making her warm.“Just Beneath the Surface 2” is a novel of extreme ups and downs. Within the narrative are great anger, great suffering, great joy and great loss. Landon and Seven evolve as the story progresses in a shockingly realistic way. Ramsey comments within the narrative, or so it seems, on mans cruelty to man. Any of us who have been online for more than five minutes can see a parallel. People say the things that cut the deepest and then laugh with derision at the reaction. They hate each other for the smallest things and never is a thought given to the pain and damage lurking under the skin. Ramsey does the impossible in “Just Beneath the Surface” in making us feel for and weep for those lost souls who may seem to be the least sympathetic. Does that mean we should ever let someone choose our path? Never but we should reach out in sympathy and compassion to those who can be saved and identify with the turmoil within. We should open our eyes to our fellow man and help who we can each day.

R.H. Ramsey’s writing style is beautiful and hauntingly real. We build a relationship with Landon and Seven in her writing and when the time comes we wonder what we could have done to help. This is a work to be savored. A tragic masterpiece. Pick it up today.

What most impressed me about this book was how carefully Ramsey plotted the abuser. He’s about control. He references Kendall’s former model status and he’s clearly insecure in his relationship with her. Each time something happens he says the right things. They curl up and talk and he pampers her and for a few days everything is okay until the next time there’s an imperceptible slight. Kendall must tell him that she loves him in a certain way, quit her job so he’s her only interaction.

The only issue I had with this book is that Kendall did not seem capable of being alone. She goes to the new domestic situation very quickly. I would have liked for her, just for herself, to have some time to depend on herself but I can see how that might not have worked within the storyline. I can also see how that is really what people do. I have known more than one person who got married the day their divorce was finalized (or the day after). Nothing like taking time for self-evaluation.

The reader may be looking at this review thinking that I’m really spoiling this novel. This is not half of what the reader will experience. There’s also an intense sense of danger. Will this be the ultimate cautionary tale? Will it cause you to look at your neighbors and wonder what is beneath the surface?

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection Covers Many Faults, November 27, 2013
This review is from: Just Beneath the Surface II: Landon’s Story (Kindle Edition)
The signs of abuse, no matter what form, can speak so softly, be hidden so well, dress sooo beautifully, no one would know what was beneath the surface.In Landon’s story,RH Ramsey pulls us in by showing us how abuse can be hidden behind perfection, wrapped in a velvet glove, tied with friendship, packaged in the familiar faces of loved ones, and is almost totally buried.I am not one for remembering names, but I remember emotions. Beneath the Surface is embroiled with scenes of tenderness, denial, shock, love, betrayal, amazement and you live each and everyone of them. . I was entranced with this story.

I was totally surprised at where the story went and how deep money could bury truth.
This is not a feel good story. It is an awakening. Look deeper for the cracks, search longer. You may be the catalyst to change a situation or save a life. This is a story, along with Beneath the Surface I that I would recommend.

4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious and charming or sick and twisted, April 15, 2014
This review is from: Just Beneath the Surface II: Landon’s Story (Kindle Edition)

I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

While this isn’t my typical cup of tea, the character and story quickly sucked me in. Langdon is one of the creepiest characters I have ever seen. Mysterious and charming on the outside, but twisted and sick on the inside. This story is definitely one that will stick with you and the characters will haunt you for months.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s