4 (More) ‘Like Shards of Glass’ Facts

 

Music&Inspiration

1. I was very inspired by thoughts as simple and terrifying as: We are all potentially one step away from losing it all, one bad choice from addiction, one bad day away from losing ourselves.

2. I kept James Blake, ‘Retrograde’, and James Blake,’Case of you’, on repeat. There were a handful of artists, including Miguel and Raised by Swans, but for some reason, these two songs were at the top of my list.

dominiquequotescover-PNG-76

3. I love TCM, love classic movies, and I watched a lot of black and white films around the time I began writing this book. Why were they inspiring? Well, because many of my more intimate scenes were conceptualized  wanting to create something that was not forced, but was felt — because of anticipation and leaving things to the imagination.

In classic movies, if there was intimacy, viewers were drawn in, aware of what happened, and blushed as the scene faded to black. Then, the unmade bed, disheveled hair, and morning after, made it quite evident what had happened. Again, this inspired me to write intimate scenes that were slow-building and sensual, but not egregious or offensive.

4. Since my first two published novels were written a decade ago, I wanted to give readers a different side of me. I was also really excited to apply what I have learned over the past two years.

I drew inspiration from one of my newer novels, unpublished, which also involves addiction and co-dependence, and planned to write a short story. As I wrote it, I realized that maybe it would be a novella. But instead, Like Shards of Glass became a novel (I think it’s a bit on the short side.)

Hop over to Smashwords, and take a free peek at the sample!! Pre-order or Sample

 

 

Shards promo 4

 

 

Leave a Reply

