Bookworm’s Nook: “The feel of the cover and the weird smell of pages is what I live for.”

Bookworm’s Nook

an avid reader’s perspective

b17janneke096


image-07-07-14-01-29-2
Hello&Welcome, Shaila!!!

Shaila, would you like to share a bit about yourself?

Hey guys! My name is Shaila, and I am currently a student. I hope to be in university by September to study Pharmaceutical chemistry. I am a very dedicated reader, and run a blog as well as a Facebook page, where I review all genres, except erotica.
http://hushhushrevealings.blogspot.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/HushHushRevealings?ref=hl&ref_type=bookmark

I am also an aspiring writer, who discovered my passion for reading and writing when I was GROUNDED a few years back. I am currently working on a short fantasy story titled Celestina Of Heaven- The Altaira Sphere Chronicles. I also love poetry and have had two of my poems published previously.

 

image-07-07-14-01-29
When did you fall in love with reading? 

I fell in love with reading when I was 12. I was a bit of a loner at school and spent most my time in the school library. The first novel I read was The Princess Diaries. I wouldn’t trade my loneliness for anything.

 

Do you remember your favorite places to read throughout the years?

I love reading in coffee shops, libraries, but what I really want is a reading nook.

 

Do you remember the first e-book you purchased?

Nothing Left to Lose by Kirsty Moseley.

 

I read a great meme about “e-books versus paperback” … do you have a preference, or do you think it is silly that people can’t simply agree that both are great in their own way?

Personally, I LOVE paperbacks. The feel of the cover and the weird smell of the image-07-07-14-01-29-1
pages is what I live for. However, when travelling, I prefer my iPad.

 

Do you have a favorite genre, or do you like to explore any and all books?

I generally love all genres except erotica. I still find it hard to digest. But I love writing Fantasy and romance.

 

What book has most inspired you, brought you to tears, or changed your perspective?

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. It is one of my fave books of all time, I cried throughout. The way the author has explored each situation is epic. There’s no other words to describe Hosseini’s writing.

 

Have you ever found a book so disturbing, that you couldn’t finish it, or had to leave it and come back? 

Yup. Fifty Shades of Grey. I mean it is written very nicely. It’s perfect. But the first time I read it, it took some time to digest.

 

Who are some of your favorite supporting characters? Antagonists? 

I love all villains. I have like a major obsession with villains as they’re the victims of the author. We don’t know their story. And why don’t we? Blame the author!

 

Excellent answer!

Are there books that you find yourself revisiting? (Either in your mind or literally picking up the book to reread it again and again).

The Twilight Saga. I literally was obsessed, I started memorising it. Urm… Kirsty Moseley books I love! Khaled Hosseini books I’ve read like 10 times.

Have you ever absolutely adored an author, gotten to know too much about them or watched the writer in interviews, and been completely turned off? Even from reading their books? 

There was this one author who I do not wish to name, but I found her personality very rude and inconsiderate. She is not one who knows how to keep promises. On the other hand, I met Steena Holmes this year, and I can gladly say she is what she writes. Hard working, perfect and understanding. I love her work. There is also Brooke Williams. I have only read one of her books, Someone Always Loved You, and I rated it 5 stars. She is a fantastic author who has grown on me, and i now consider her a friend. Lavinia Urban, I found to be very kind and considerate and her work is great!

If you could introduce two characters from two different books you
have read, who would they be and why?

Mariam from A Thousand Splendid Suns. She has faced a lot of pain and suffering, yet Hosseini has portrayed her as a strong personality. I wish I was more like her. And Brian from The Memory Child. Holmes showed this character as one who puts his family first. I admire that a lot in him.

 

Your favorite book to movie adaptation? Your favorite book to television series? What books are you excited to see on the big screen/as a television series?

The Vampire Diaries. I loved the books, and I’m hooked on the series. Urm…I haven’t read Divergent but I loved the film. I loved the Twilight movies but I felt the books were a LOT better. I’m really looking forward to the Fallen movie.

 

 

image-07-07-14-01-29-3

So much fun, enjoyed getting to know more about you as a bookworm 🙂

Thank you so much for chatting, hope you’ll stop by, again, soon!

Visit and connect with Hush Hush Revealings:

http://hushhushrevealings.blogspot.co.uk

https://www.facebook.com/HushHushRevealings?ref=hl&ref_type=bookmark 

Leave a Reply

