Bookworm’s Nook: “I actually prefer ebooks. They don’t take up any room ..”

Bookworm’s Nook

an avid reader’s perspective!

b17janneke096

 

Hello&Welcome Back, Christy!!

Would you like to share a bit about yourself?

My name is Christy Garrett. I am married to my best friend and have three
wonderful children. I started writing when I got laid off from my job
several years ago due to low back pain. I am currently writing for
Uplifting Families and I am a contributor for several other blogs
including Voiceboks.

Do you remember your favorite places to read throughout the years?

I never was a huge reader until a few years ago when I had to find a new
hobby since some of my other hobbies were no longer an option for me. My husband introduced me to e-books. I ended up downloading the Kindle, Nook,

and another app for reading e-books on my phone so that I could read
anytime and anywhere I wanted even while laying in bed. I would love to
read under a tree while sitting outside but my favorite place to read is
in bed.

How much attention do you pay to book covers? What attracts you, what do
you consider a turn-off?

I am a sucker for a great cover. I am usually attracted to books that have
great covers. I find boring covers harder to pick up. I think authors who
have an attractive cover make their books easily noticeable. Of course, I
do try to read the book intro instead of relying on the cover photo only
because I would hate to miss out on a great book just because the cover is
plain or boring.

I read a great meme about “e-books versus paperback” … do you have a
preference, or do you think it is silly that people can’t simply agree
that both are great in their own way?

I actually prefer ebooks. They don’t take up any room in my house and I
can read them anytime that I want to since I have the apps on my phone. I
also seem to read faster on my phone because the words are just the right
size per page. Plus, e-books allow me to read in the dark.
I do like the smell of a paperback but I try not to buy them unless I get
them free or cheap.

I do buy my kids books. I want them to read and learn how to enjoy reading.

Do you have a favorite genre, or do you like to explore any and all books?

I am usually not picky and will read a book if it sounds interesting. I
have read some great books over the last several years. My collection
includes Christian fiction, vampire, mystery, romance, and humor.

Have you ever found a book so disturbing, that you couldn’t finish it, or
had to leave it and come back?

I actually had to put down “The Shack”. I still haven’t finished the book,
I got to the middle of the book and I didn’t want to find out if anything
bad happened to the girl. I might try to re-read it and see if I can
finish it.

What question would you ask your favorite author, if you had the chance to
ask only one question?

I always would love to know what inspired them to write their books

Who are some of your favorite supporting characters? Antagonists?

I don’t really have a favorite supporting character or antagonist. I have
read some great books from Rhonda Ramsey, LynDee Walker, DelSheree
Gladden, and many others that had some great characters.

Aww, thanks!!! Have you ever absolutely adored an author, gotten to know too much about
them or watched the writer in interviews, and been completely turned off?
Even from reading their books?

I usually don’t go watch any interviews or researched an author unless I
am looking for more books.

Favorite book to movie adaptation? Your favorite book to television
series? What books are you excited to see on the big screen/as a
television series?

Movie Adaptation – I liked the “FireProof” book and movie. They were very
close together.
Television Series – I haven’t read any books that were part of a tv
series, maybe one day.
I am looking forward to seeing Heaven is For Real, I read the book several
years ago and loved the story. I plan on seeing it as soon as it comes out
on Redbox.

Always fun chatting with you, Christy!! Thank you for stopping by. Please, stop by, again, soon!

Twitter

Website

Facebook

Leave a Reply

