A Blog Tour Writing Process

Hello, all!
Welcome to a blog tour where writers and authors answer questions about their writing process.
My friend and talented author,Ey Wade, posted her process last week, and discussed her latest book,Tripping Prince Charming, as well as her Beads on a String.
 

My books:

 Just Beneath the Surface 2: Landon’s Story, is my latest release. It is a story about a young man who prides himself in control. Control over his life, his past, and his secrets. But when Landon falls in love, he falls hard – he loses himself, and for the first time, he loses control.

” Ramsey does the impossible in “Just Beneath the Surface: Landon’s Story” in making us feel for and weep for those lost souls who may seem to be the least sympathetic. Does that mean we should ever let someone choose our path? Never but we should reach out in sympathy and compassion to those who can be saved and identify with the turmoil within. We should open our eyes to our fellow man and help who we can each day.R.H. Ramsey’s writing style is beautiful and hauntingly real. We build a relationship with Landon and Seven in her writing and when the time comes we wonder what we could have done to help. This is a work to be savored. A tragic masterpiece. Pick it up today.” Rabid Reader’s Reviews

I have also published Just Beneath the Surface:

“His fingertips began apologizing, grazing over my cheeks. He closed his eyes and stepped toward me until our bodies touched. He kept walking toward me until we were both against the wall. He then buried his face in my blouse as he began to weep. ‘I’m so sorry,’ he whimpered. ‘Do you understand me? I’m so, so sorry.’ He held my face in his hands. My heart pounded. My chest hurt. How could I go? But how could I possibly stay?”

When Kendall Berkely takes a look in the mirror, she not only desperately wants to run away from the stranger staring back at her, she also knows that her days are numbered. She can feel it in her bones, and has the bruises to prove it. To make matters worse, Kendall will soon discover that her seventeen year old daughter, Diamond is on a path nearly just as dangerous.

After the demise of the family unit she once knew, a distracted mother, and being forced to accept a new stepfather, Diamond finds herself knee deep in a multitude of mistakes. When Diamond finds herself more lonely than ever before, she crosses paths with Bobby Lidell, a teacher’s aide with a dark side ..

But what is lurking in the shadows will not stop until a vow has been kept; what is lurking just beneath the surface will come seeking revenge.

Last but not least, my book of short stories, Undone:

There is an eerie glow in coming undone. It is a raw, honest, vulnerable state, and no one is exempt. No matter what falling apart looks like to you – a tear, words you cannot take back, instant gratification through substance or some type of emotional release – we are all connected in that we all come undone. We have seen someone else fall to pieces, whether directly or indirectly.

Undone is a collection of short stories, essays, monologues and excerpts from novels, both released and soon-to-be released. This book was written to establish a connection between those who are oblivious, those who are numb, those who are searching desperately for a reason to come away from that lonely ledge.

“I can hardly remember my wife storming back inside the bedroom, attacking me with her small fists, or threatening to call the police. And just as I had raised the razor strop, I felt cold steel at the back of my head. My wife spoke in a low steady voice: ‘No more.’

I knew she would never pull the trigger, and part of me dared her to do it. I wanted to wrap my hands around her neck and beg her to do it – to put me out of my misery. Instead, I dropped my fist. I released both of my daughters’ arms, which suddenly seemed so tiny in my hands. A monster – I am a monster.”

What am I working on? 

Always something! My book of short stories is now in editing, and my novel, Like Shards of Glass is also being edited.

The book of short stories will contain a few stories from Undone, as well as many new ones. I wanted to be able to share Undone at a very low price, as it is an introduction to me as a storyteller. The next book of short stories will not contain samples from other books.

Like Shards of Glass, a summer release, is about a woman who loses everything, and turns herself over to the hands of darkness. A teenager whose hero turns out to be a monster. A young man who is sucked into a downward spiral of substance, sex, and scandal.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

 They are probably no different. There’s nothing new under the sun. Artists tell stories in their own way, and we are all unique.

Why do I write what I do?

I write to give voices to those who have been silence. I write what is on my heart, to bring light and awareness. I write because I don’t say a lot, but I have a lot to say. I write, because someone out there, lost his/her voice, and will know, that they are not all alone.

How does your writing process work?

I am learning a lot about my process over the past few months.

Honestly, it is mostly just — whatever happens, happens. I like to enjoy it, and not force it. I love to listen to music while I write, but if I am out, or if I am without my headphones/earbuds, I jot down thoughts and ideas. Outlining and having my plot ready would make so much sense, and I’ve tried it so many times. But generally, the stories I write, write themselves, if that makes sense.

They start out with a couple of conversations and scenes, and from there, it sort of takes off. There are no plans for chapters; I write as it comes to me. Then there are rewrites and editing. I enjoy parts of revisions, but sometimes it can be tedious. I don’t generally force it. A lot of times, I will start  new projects, where the words flow, and I apply this energy to more tedious projects.

Here’s the fun part!!

I’ve chosen two awesome authors, who you’ll love getting to know!

 

 About David Rowinski:
David Rowinski has taught in Cairo, worked as a PCA in Zurich, tended desk at an Athen’s youth hostel and roamed the streets of Budapest. He currently divides time between Amherst, MA and East Africa. His short story Music Box appears in Issue 27 of Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wrislet. The Open Pillow is a children’s bedtime story with lessons of perseverance and development not to be outgrown.
About Ernestine Rose:
“Two years ago,  I retired from teaching after 36 years, and decided to embark on a new journey as a writer.  Since reading a good book is at the top of my to-do list on any  given day, I decided to venture into the world of the creator instead of the reader. I always thought I’d  write after I retired, but I didn’t take it seriously enough to put pen to paper (or hand to keyboard).  After I left the classroom, I spent the first six months just thinking about writing, trying to decide what kind of books I would write.    A year ago, I started the actual writing process. I ventured into nonfiction relationship advice, a memoir about motherhood, and a collection of short stories.  I’ve edited and revised all three books over and over again since then, and now, I think  I’m ready to present my work to the world.  My books are available at Amazon.com both as eBooks and in print.  I believe in the power of language, love, and family, hence the name, “Family Affair Books.””
Thank you for stopping by, please don’t forget to visit the other authors.
Leave a Reply

