Just Beneath the Surface II: Control

Into the mind of character ‘Landon’  of  Just beneath the surface II

What I’m most proud of:

I can tell you what you’re about to say before you say it.

I can calculate, create and diffuse any emotion.

I am in control every second of every day; there’s no other way.

I can mold anything, anyone, any situation into what it needs to be.

What I’m least proud of:

My past … because some things are better left in the past.

If you were to ask me about trust:

That’s a multifaceted question. I’m not one of those people who lives a sad, sheltered life, constantly fearing getting hurt.

With trust, I believe first, you’d have to trust yourself; I trust me wholeheartedly. Everything else falls in line.

Women:

I keep it pretty simple: love her, help her, be faithful to her, be her everything. Die before I’d put my hands on a woman. I keep my relationships where they belong: between myself and the woman I am involved with.

What I could use a bit less of:
Being referred to as controlling. Being called a robot.

Robot. I’m starting to hate that word. What I hate even more than the word “robot,” is the way people turn control into a four letter word.

How do I get them to understand?

I learned a lot as a child, being in the midst of a storm.  I learned what I learned because I was the calm in that storm. Nobody could tell me control is wrong; control saved my life.

I learned part of the problem was, people were angry with me for being unaffected. Secretly, they too, value control. Someplace deep down, we all do. To help, fix, love, possess, control — are these things not at the root of  human nature?

If you’re not in control, where are you?
If you’re not centered, where are you?
If you’re not introspective, who are you?

Out of control, on the edge, lost …

Out of control, to me, sounds like an explosion — hell — I’ve been to that place. Hell if I go back.

landonmeme

Landon, a mysterious engineering student, has learned to treat his past as though it belongs to someone else. He has learned to control every thought that enters his mind: everything from his memories, to his smile, to the tone of his voice. Anyone who believes that they have begun to understand Landon is sadly mistaken. He is a man impenetrable.

His own brother, Peter, refers to Landon as a robot. Landon’s mother fears that he will soon self-destruct. Landon only wishes that everyone around him would accept and understand one thing; Landon has unlocked what he considers his most prized possession: the gift of control.

Seven is a peculiar beauty whose temper, harsh tongue and violent tendencies often get her into trouble. After meeting Landon, Seven finds her way into unchartered territory: his heart. Soon, Seven’s perception of herself is challenged. She is frequently urged to step away and reevaluate herself, as the handsome young man who is wise beyond his years gently coaches her into finding her best self.

As secrets are revealed, and an unspoken bond is formed, Landon and Seven grow to be inseparable.

Before long, the horrors of the past bring Landon full circle. As his soft stoic surface faces intrusion, his old self is relinquished to paranoia. In time, Landon’s world is threatened by the recurring nightmare he thought he had left behind.

Leave a Reply

