Music, quotes and distractions

(photo from Amanda writing)

I read an interesting article on  bodyodd.nbcnews.com. The article suggests that finding ways to distract ourselves when facing big decisions can help us make better choices. I concur, and here is a tiny piece of what I read:

“You don’t need to rely on your id for everyday decision-making, like whether to order the chicken or the fish. But if you want to pick like a pro, distract yourself for two minutes before you deliver a verdict. The most effective distractions are completely different from the original problem, says J. David Creswell, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology at Carnegie Mellon University.  His favorite trick to tune out: turn up your favorite music.”

photo from: https://www.facebook.com/TheRightSideOfWrongAndALittleLeftOfNormal

That said, here are some of my favorite quotes, from some of the songs I have either kept on repeat while writing, or distracted myself with when thoughtful:

Can you roll down a window
I just wanna feel the wind blow in my face
‘Cause these moments come one blink at a time
That’s why I never wanna close my eyes
Yeah, I can feel a riot in the air tonight
The kind of a trouble you can taste ~ Miguel “the thrill”

***

In your arms, I’m silver air and sleeping pills
But you draw your tripwires with poison quills
The garden awakes
You’re drawing away
I’m drawing my first breath
But roots hold tight like traplines
They carry a lot of weight ~ raised by swans “Secret Garden”

***

From every room hearts spoke through walls too thin to hold
the weight of what they heard
so fires crept through spaces long left soft and blurred ~ raised by swans “We were young”

***

If this river be my death bed,
Made by the madness of this man,
And my words to him be thank you,
Would the heavens understand?
All my life I’ve been a good girl,
Every night I’ve said my prayers
And I hope that Jesus heard me
Through all my tears.
Here’s my angels come to take me.
They are haloed in the light,
But I wish they’d touch me softly,
They’re aggressive and they’re uptight. ~ Charlie Winston “Lift me gently”

***

Every time I write these words they become a taboo
Making sure my punctuation curve
Every letter is true
Living my life in the margin and that metaphor was proof ~ Kendrick Lamar “Poetic Justice”

***

the reason I hold on
Ohhh cause I need this hole gone
Funny you’re the broken one but i’m the only one who needed saving
Cause when you never see the lights it’s hard to know which one of us is caving ~ Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko “Stay”

***

The sweetest thing I’ve ever known
Was like the kiss on the collarbone
Soft caress of happiness
The way you walk, your style of dress ~ Lauryn Hill “Sweetest thing”

***

Its amazing the way the darkness falls
And the truth out there is cold
And nothing to keep you warm
Jealousy and lies within me
I got a feeling the sun wont shine today
And I gotta to know right now
Will I be rich, have everything I want
I stop myself and look to the sky ~ Robin Thicke “To the Sky”

***

Childhood living is easy to do
The things you wanted I bought them for you
Graceless lady you know who I am
You know I can’t let you slide through my hands
Wild horses, couldn’t drag me away
Wild wild horses couldn’t drag me away

I watched you suffer a dull aching pain
Now you decided to show me the same
No sweeping exits or off stage lines
Could make me feel bitter or treat you unkind
Wild horses, couldn’t drag me away
Wild wild horses couldn’t drag me away

I know I’ve dreamed you a sin and a lie
I have my freedom but I don’t have much time
Faith has been broken tears must be cried
Let’s do some living after we die
Wild horses, couldn’t drag me away
Wild wild horses we’ll ride them someday
Wild horses, couldn’t drag me away
Wild wild horses we’ll ride them someday ~ Mick Jagger/Keith Richards

***

I guess you can say I was inspired

I guess you can say my heart was moved

with a yearning paramount desire

to be something monumental to you

So I’m taking this moment to

bestow and present my heart to you

To show you the weight of the magnitude of my interest in you. ~ Mali Music “Deep Blood Red”

***

Last but not least, this is no song. It is a beautiful quote that I found while browsing Healthy Happy Relationships
“You are not your mind, your emotions or the circumstances of your life. You are the peaceful observer of your mind and emotions that allows life circumstances to pass through and around you for your evolution to finally come to a place of total acceptance of all that is. Only the peaceful observer remains after all else fades away. Only the peaceful observer in total acceptance of what is can take action towards effectively changing anything. You are only this peaceful observer – everything else is as fleeting as the blink of an eye, choose happiness and don’t buy into it.” ~ Jackson Kiddard

What are your distractions? What songs keep your head in the clouds?

Take a look at this author’s perspective on music!

7 comments
  1. I have never thought about how a distraction might help you make a big decision. What and interesting article. I love your ideas. And I loved the quote at the beginning as well!

    • You know? I didn’t really think about distractions that way, either. But then I thought about it (and if I’m not impulsive and ridiculous) I generally zone out a little, so I can think. What do I do when I zone out? I either work on short stories and novels or listen to music. So, I think this really is accurate. Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂

    • Exactly. I love that.
      Inspiration, distraction, driving, exercising — anytime I listen to music, I take something from it.
      🙂

  2. Cheryl said:

    How interesting, I too would not have consciously thought about this but when I reflected on some of the bigger decisions I have had to make, the ones where there was time to reflect and be distracted by life, (in my case with 6 children I am constantly distract, albeit, music might just be a more pleasant distraction then the kind I am usually dealing with) those are the better decisions certainly then the ones I’ve made in an instant on the spot.

  3. the quote in the first photo caught me, it’s so deep.

    About distractions, I’ve been using it lately to avoid getting to stressed. Just like when I’m becoming impatient and angry, I intentionally sing praise songs. Then all the bad thoughts are forgotten like magic.

  4. I LOVE the quote above. The distraction thing is such a fantastic idea! I think that’s how most people relax anyway, right? When you have a really pressing deadline, you relax by going to the gym or doing something totally unrelated so that you can clear your mind. What a great post!

Leave a Reply

