My indie announcements and more!

Since self-publishing last year, there have been ups and downs, highs and lows, lessons and regrets.

One of my biggest setbacks? Getting Just Beneath the Surface II out there so that I could move forward with the next project(s).

You may not remember, but the release date was originally winter of 2012. It has been delayed and pushed back so many times, that I lost all patience. I stopped talking about it, prayed about it, and I released it from my long list of obsessions … over and over again.

And then, I got news — wonderful news — from an independent publisher, InknBeans Press, which I submitted to last year. They were interested in acquiring Just Beneath the Surface! Since I’m always shocked when someone likes or is moved by what I write, I was, of course … shocked.

Then it set in …

This meant not only a home for Just Beneath the Surface, but a home for the sequel! Finally, I could exhale. And I did. For every door that closed, I feel pretty good about the one that opened – just as I wanted to walk away and regroup.

I took my time, went over my contract (and took some more time) and I realized that it just felt right. So, its official – I now have a publisher. Never really saw that coming. And as I always say, its more than money or fame for me. Its beyond writing simply because I read a book and I felt I could do better. Its something beyond words for me; I only know I want to know I wrote something timeless,relatable and that someone was moved.

I’m grateful and content (not to be confused with complacent) to know that InknBeans believes in my potential. Pretty good feeling.

That said …

I couldn’t be more excited to announce (re-announce) that Just Beneath the Surface II is coming soon. Hopefully very soon. Just Beneath the Surface will be re-released, and I will be making a “minor” adjustment to one of my book covers. I will be sharing the reveal very soon!

In closing …
If I, someone who has been writing for years, only as an outlet, with no intent to share, too afraid to believe in my passion,  can achieve it, so can you.

~Pray, dream,write … don’t give up … never give up

12 comments
  1. I can’t wait to read your next book Rhonda. Thank you for writing about topics that aren’t always easy to talk about. After all of the setbacks, it will be worth it in the end. You never know whose life you will touch through your books. All of the seeds you are sewing today, might take a while to grow but when they do, they will be the most beautiful flowers in the world. Thank you for your dedication to write about things you are passionate about.

    • Such a beautiful thing to say. Thank you so much, and the same goes for the seeds you sow at upliftingfamilies.com. God bless you, and thanks, again!

  2. Crystal said:

    Congrats!!! I’m so happy for you Rhonda! It’s so good to see good things happen to good people !

    • I appreciate that!! Same to you and your accomplishments.
      We’ll see what happens 🙂
      Either way, I’m just grateful that shyness, if only for a moment or two, took a backseat so I could at least TRY! Thank you, Crystal.

  3. This is so fantastic! Congratulations:) I’m getting ready to self publish, and getting all of the ducks in a row. It’s great to read this for inspiration. Thanks for being that example!:)

    • Well, thank you sooo much!! I hope for the best, but I’m just grateful someone was willing to take a chance on me 🙂
      The process is so difficult, so rewarding — your book is like your baby in a way, right??!!
      But, yes. It all starts with that step. Let me know if you ever need anything along the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

