Bookworm’s Nook: “I like the brainy, self sufficient, independent women who can do it all …”

Bookworm’s Nook

a writer’s perspective

Hello and welcome, Ey Wade!!

Would you like to share a bit about yourself?

I am a caged in frustrated author of thought provoking, mind bending e-Books, an occasional step-in parent, a fountain of knowledge, and I’m ready to share. I write what I would like to say and I mean everything I write.

Knowing me as a writer and author is like cracking an egg’s shell in the air and wondering how far the splatter will spread. Wait, that’s kind of like knowing me as a person. I’m like all over the board and always working on three to five projects at a time. I have no favorite spots to work and my view tends to be pointed at the keyboard. When an idea comes into my head I just flow with it. I haven’t been able to conform my writing to any specific pattern. I am more than often working on one story and the characters from another will just be dying to get my attention and I have to go into their world.

I tend to write in various genres from fiction to picture books. Using pen  (same one for the past eleven years) and paper, laptop and as a newly favorite the word program on my cell phone. I have found I can write anywhere with that little contraption and my focus is intent. Has to be with those tiny keys, right? And then I just email to myself and copy past into my manuscript.

Before becoming a self-published author I followed the rules. Wrote outlines, character back stories, did the word counting, queries and everything. I even had an agent once. Unfortunately he was a horrible choice. Directed me away from Ballantine books (wish I would have known who they were then) who wanted The Perfect Solution and straight into the corrupt hands of Publish America. What a crock. After that fiasco I was so humiliated I couldn’t write. Fought and had my rights returned and now, I am back. I tried the querying again, but became frustrated when it seems the agents’ rules are so varied, too confusing for me. Not to mention the rejection letters can be soul crushing. I received a lot of positive reviews for The Perfect Solution when it was first published and yet when I began querying one agent informed me no one would like the book and yet it deals with negligence in the child care system.  So, off I ran on my own. I have recently put three novels, three picture books and a creative non-fiction book into the Amazon and Smashwords systems. I think e-publishing is one of the greatest inventions God has given to the world. I would advise any author to go that route when they have something they feel strongly about.

Oh, and to let you know I do have a stable life…I am the (always single) mother of three daughters who are all grown now, 27, 25, and nearly 20 years old and I home schooled them on a string and a prayer. Though it may seem as if I am a bit scattered brained I was able to school them into college by the age of seventeen and sixteen. The two eldest have graduated, yeah!  I am the drooling proud ‘Lovey’ of a baby boy named Jett Parker Ellington. Before being destroyed by Hurricane Ike, I lived in a nice home and owned a home-based childcare center and that’s me and my writing life in a nutshell.

Website: http://wade-inpublishing.com

Facebook-: Written by Ey Wade

Twitter @jumpouttheboat & eywade

Author Sites:

http://wade-inpublishing.blogspot.com

In the Chair

http://flavors.me/imtheauthor

Kindle, Smashwords , Sony or Kobo, Scribed
Nook and iPad

When did you fall in love with reading?

I can’t remember exactly. I have always liked to read. I remember when I realized it had become an obsession, it was the time I was about thirteen and my mom entered the room and told me to go outide and get some fresh air. *laughing out loud* she said, “All you’re doing is reading someone else’s imagination” . Little did she know, this was a catalyst to my wanting to be a writer.

Do you remember your first favorite book? (Or picture book?)

No, I don’t. As an adult I remember falling in love with the book ‘No, David’. Now, that I have a grandson. I love the book even more. Totally captures him.

Do you prefer paperback books, e-books or both? Why?

I really don’t have a preference. I enjoy a book in whatever form as long as it is good.

What, in your opinion, makes a writer one of “the greats?”

If a writer’s work touches all of my emotions and I can remember it for months/years, they are a great writer.

When reading, what types of characters do you find yourself relating to more than others?

I like the brainy, self sufficient, independent women who can do it all, have it all, and still make common human mistakes in life.

Has a book ever brought you to tears? If so, what book and why?

There are so many. The most recent I have read was the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lackes.  The concept of it was so disturbing and brought me through so many emotions, I know I will never read it again.

Do you ever find yourself more connected with the darker
characters/antagonists in the books you read?

Oh my gosh, yes. There have been some people I would have loved to have been, especially when it came to getting a little retribution and getting away with it.

What is one book you wish you could see on the big screen?

The Giver by Lois Lowry

 

Think of your favorite book (or one of your favorites):

What songs would you consider the perfect play list for this/these book(s)?

The Giver – Coldplay’s ‘Yellow’

Which of your books would you consider the best fit for the big screen?

Now, don’t say I’m being bias because I think I have written a number of books that will fit. I would love to see D.N.A. on the screen. The book has so much to say to youth and I think the main character did a great job portraying this. The Perfect Solution, exposes a lot about the inner problems of the childcare system and brings the readers through so many experiences it would make a terrific film.

Geez, Rhonda I would have to turn a cold shoulder to many of my of writes. I can’t pick just one.

Hahaha! I know the feeling, Ms Wade. It’s pretty much impossible, right?

As a writer, how do you separate inspiration from your
favorite books, from your own creative process?

Yes, I do. I’ve read a lot of books and honestly feel I don’t write in the style of anyone I have read.

Great chatting with you. Thanks so much for sharing!

Again, connect with Ey Wade here:

Website: http://wade-inpublishing.com

Facebook-: Written by Ey Wade

Twitter @jumpouttheboat & eywade

Author Sites:

http://wade-inpublishing.blogspot.com

In the Chair

http://flavors.me/imtheauthor

Kindle, Smashwords , Sony or KoboScribed
Nook and iPad

7 comments
    • You’re so welcome, and thanks so much for stopping by.
      (Yes, you would enjoy her books. She’s got adorable children’s books as well as adult and YA)

  1. I love reading about other single moms who have homeschooled and write! Thanks for sharing this!

  2. You’ve just piqued my interest in Ey Wade. Not only because of her writing, but also because she’s a single mom- just like myself. I wish I could be that self-sufficient, independent woman who can do it all…

  3. Love the questions you ask…. Not just about the book. Thanks for an interesting interview.

  4. I have never heard of Ms. Wade, but I love to read and I am also a “forever single” mother. Thanks for sharing. Stopping by from VoiceBoks!

Leave a Reply

