Bookworm’s Nook: the writer’s perspective

Bookworm’s Nook:

the writer’s perspective

Hello, and welcome back, Laura Wright LaRoche!

Laura is a multi-talented author, photographer and book cover designer!

Today, we take a look at Laura’s newly released novel, Black Woods 2!

What can readers expect from Black Woods 2, and what are you most excited to share about this book?

They can expect to find out what the creature really is, and I’m really excited that my main characters are older heroines who live non-stereotypical lives. Why give all the glory to the young?

Would you like to share a few things about the main characters?

Julie and Laura are sisters, in their mid-sixties, who love to mushroom hunt, and friendly tease the younger crowd. They came from a large family and they remain close.

What books would the characters in your novels be reading, right now?

Julie would be reading Home and Garden. I know it’s a magazine, but she loves her yard. Dale would be reading The Hunger Games, while Chris wouldn’t pick up a book. Laura would be reading anything scary, most likely Christine. It is one of her favorite books.

How did you create the villains in Black Woods – from their name, to their back story?

The villain in Black Woods isn’t human. It’s a creature which haunts and terrorizes those who enter its territory. The animal has been trapped there for over a hundred years, trying to cross an imaginary line.

What book inspired you to pick up a pen, or sit down at the keyboard, and try your hand at writing?

Not one book, but many. I would say the most inspiring would be: “So Cold the River” by Michael Koryta, “The Shining” by Stephen King, “Watchers,” by Dean Koontz and many others.

Do you have a writing ritual or things that you must have at your fingertips when working on your novels?

I must have a hot cup of coffee with Irish cream, but it’s usually cold by the time I drink it. I also like to write while the TV is on. It tends to make me focus on the book while I drown out the back noise.

How do you defeat writer’s block?

I usually put it aside and design a book cover. After making an inspirational cover for another author, I’m ready to write again.

How do you separate your love of writing, from the sting of what readers may say?

Everyone has a right to an opinion, but I don’t let the negative ones bother me. Writing isn’t something you should run from because someone didn’t like your words. A story dwells inside the mind and travels down into the fingertips as it rips at your flesh until it’s set free.

What is your favorite scene in Black Woods, without giving too much away?

In Black Woods, book 1, this is my favorite scene:

Crack!

He hears behind him and he spins around to see what it might be, nothing. He can’t see more than ten feet away, damn the dark, this last thought chills him. Erick still holds his gun to his chest, and he now slowly raises it to take aim. Although he’s not hearing any sounds from the noise maker, he knows something is peering through the thickness of the trees. He decides to stay on guard. He feels something’s profoundly wrong in his soul.

Swoosh!

The sound fills Erick’s hearing followed by air flowing forcefully around him like a fan blowing on high. Then he hears a….

Hoot hoot.

He sees the grandiose owl soaring through the night air, as the leaves floating through the darkened space settle back to the cold earth.

“Damn bird!” Erick yells at the lovely nocturnal beast.

His heart thuds so hard against his chest it’s as if it’s blasting in a coalmine. He can feel the vibrations deep in his inner core. He returns to his guard duty. Now with some hope, the owl might be his noise maker.

In Black Woods Revealed, book 2, my favorite scene is this:

I stood still, staring at the animal as it stared back. I could see tortured souls, swimming and churning inside its blue orbs. Why are they there? Something is wrong, but what?

Swiftly, the animal leaped toward me, slamming into the invisible line instead.

Have you gone mad? I thought while standing beside the graves. Then suddenly, I was on the other side of the line, inside Black Woods. I glanced over my shoulder toward the graves. My eyesight was clear, but the coloring of everything was different. dull somehow, except the graves. They seemed to glow.

I now fiercely wanted to cross the line, back into safety. I heard faint voices crying for help. I turned my head toward the Black Woods, but no one was there. I looked back at the graves. The voices were louder.

Connect with Laura:

https://twitter.com/WrightLaRoche

https://www.facebook.com/LLPix

http://www.llpix.com/

Find the Black Woods series and other titles by Laura Wright LaRoche here:

http://www.amazon.com/Laura-Wright-LaRoche/e/B007AXT3N0

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing, Laura!

4 comments
  1. I like your info about negativity. It’s true. It seems everywhere and everything we do in life is open to opinions and many times we do get negative ones. Sometimes they can be good as well, because we can’t always have the “good” stuff shooting at us, otherwise we would never know what we might be doing wrong. Great interview!

    • So true. We do have to learn the difference between constructive criticism and the senseless negativity … Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. Rhonda, Thanks for the honor to grace your site, and thanks Lexie for the kind words. Yes, I’ve learned a bit or two from reviews and I appreciate each one I receive.
    Happy reading and writing to all!
    Laura

Leave a Reply

