Bookworm’s Nook: “I relate to the underdog at times …”

Bookworm’s Nook:

an avid reader’s perspective

Hello & Welcome, Joey!

Would you like to share a bit about yourself?

My name is Joey Pinkney. I run a website called http://joeypinkney.com. It’s a book blog that brings together readers and writers of many different genres. It features author interviews and book reviews. I do a lot of social media marketing to expose writers to a growing readership.

I’m also an author of a few published short stories. My latest publication at the time of answering the questions in the interview is my novel “Unholy Days”. It can be downloaded as a free Android app at the following link: http://h1t.it/14h40vt

What is your favorite thing about reading?

My favorite thing about reading is learning. Reading has the great potential introducing you to new worlds and concepts. A great book will whisk you away to a world you may have never experience. The ability to expand through the written world is very interesting to me.

When did you fall in love with reading?

I fell in love with reading as soon as I learned how to make sense of the letters. I still love looking at ads, junk mail, literature, almost anything with words. Reading those children’s stories was perfect for my vivid imagination. That same imagination carried over into my adult years.

What are your favorite genres and why?

It’s hard to pick a favorite genre because many of the novels I read today tend to blend different genres together. I still like Urban Fiction. I like the guns, sex, violence and the morals in the themes. I’m the same way about movies. I guess it’s a safe form of escapism.

Do you prefer paperback books, e-books or both? Why?

My preference has shifted over the past two years. I clung to the idea of paperbacks for as long as possible. With paperbacks, I can easily flip through the pages and go back to a specific point in the book.

All of that goes out of the window with ebooks. They are so much more convenient. Easy to obtain. Easy to access. I can search for key words and find exactly what I’m looking for.

I had an experience with paperbacks that really put the convenience of ebooks in perspective. I was helping a friend move. He had a box of books that I had to take up two flight of stairs. With each step, I realized more and more than I’d much rather carry these book in a Kindle.

What, in your opinion, makes a writer one of “the greats?”

I think that the fans make certain authors a part of “the greats”. More specifically, certain critics with pull and clout make “the greats” who they are. That’s not to insinuate that “the greats” don’t deserve their positions.

But I do want to make the point that there are many great writers that are overshadowed by the ones who get recognized. There are so many books that have been produced over the years that are just as intense and provocative, yet they get looked over because they are not from popular authors.

When reading, what types of characters do you find yourself relating to more than others?

I find myself relating to characters that question the validity of the world in which they are placed. When things are swirling about and a character asks or ponders the same thing I’m thinking while reading, that character will keep my attention.

Are there books that you find yourself revisiting? (Either in your mind or literally picking up the book to reread it again and again).

I rarely reread books. The few times that I have, I’ve seen the layers that the books provide that you can’t get on the first go around. There are certain characters that I see in the real world in the people I come across. Most good authors are able to infuse the experiences in to stories to the point where the reader can relate to that experience.

Has a book ever brought you to tears? If so, what book and why?

Yes, a few books have brought me to tears. Some of the situations are so intense and stressful that they make you want to scream. I recently read a status update from Treasure Blue’s Facebook Wall that when something like this: “If you don’t cry while writing your book, you don’t need to be writing.”

That might not be the direct quote, but I think he was prompting writers to come with an intensity in their story that is unavoidable. Anything less shouldn’t be published.

Do you ever find yourself more connected with the darker

characters/antagonists in the books you read?

There have been times where I “sit back and root for the villain” like Nas said. I relate to the underdog at times and understand that sometimes the antagonist could very well be the protagonist with a little bit of insight into the overall situation.

If you could introduce two characters from two different books you have read, who would they be and why?

I would introduce Gabby from Monica Mathis Stowe’s “Where Did We Go Wrong” series to Denise Johnson from Madison’s “Scattered Lies” series. I know Denise would figure our a way to murder Gabby, but I’m sure Gabby would verbally give Denise a run for her money.

What is one book you wish you could see on the big screen? What books, in your opinion, were better as books, not so much movies?

All books are better than the movies that come from them, period. No director can capture what can be experienced between an author, his/her book and the reader.

I’d like to see Moses Miller’s “Trifling Times of… Nathan Jones” as a movie. Action, love, social history, you can’t beat it.

Many authors are avid readers — how can writers separate inspiration from imitation, cultivate their craft, and mature into their own artist?

 

I don’t think an author who is an avid reader can completely separate inspiration from imitation. As we read, we pick up tricks and tools for future writing. Or at least we should. That’s not to say that we should rip off a person’s writing style. But it does mean that inspiration can lead to imitation. That’s directly tied into cultivating one’s craft. Getting better at writing required increased levels of writing as much as increased levels of learning about what writing and storytelling is. That comes from putting a lot of mental energy into studying the ins and outs of writing.

The more you think as you write, the more you start to get to a point where you write in a manner that makes sense to you. That’s when you begin to mature into your own artist.

Thanks, Joey!

Visit Joey’s website:

http://joeypinkney.com

Find Joey Pinkney’s books here:

http://h1t.it/14h40vt

11 comments
  1. Kristl said:

    I would love to ask my mother in law these same questions…she’s a true bookworm! It might make for a great conversation starter!

    • Yes, they just might be good conversation starters!!! Thanks so much!

  2. Great to meet Joey. Always great to get an author’s perspective on reading and how it relates to writing.

  3. Loved reading about your perspective. Some of my all-time favorite books have been ones written by lesser-known authors. I love to watch as authors mature and come into their own with each new book.

    • I love to watch this, too. I can only aspire to continue learning and growing. Thanks for commenting!

  4. Joey, it’s good to meet other people who have loved books since childhood. I enjoyed reading your responses and appreciate the work you do.

    • Thank you so much for visiting. I enjoyed your social media article; it was so very informative.

  5. Thank you for sharing Joey with us. I have picked up reading over the last few weeks and started reviewing the books I read.

    • I really enjoyed his answers, too! That’s wonderful! Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

