Bookworm’s Nook

Bookworm’s Nook:

an avid reader’s perspective

Hello and welcome, Donesha!!

Would you like to share a bit about yourself?

My name is Donesha Thompson and I am the author of Roses from Stones, just published in January. Roses From Stones allows the reader to examine surroundings and one’s innerself.

The upcoming project I am working on is another poetry experiment, and that is Nature’s Own

What is your favorite thing about reading?

I love reading because it allows me to see through the eyes of characters I probably would never meet.

What are your favorite genres and why?

I love romance because it has to do with love. I am a huge fan of happy endings and romance gives me that most of the time.

Do you prefer paperback books, e-books or both? Why?

I am o.k. with both paperbacks and e-books, but my doctor and my eyes tell me paperbacks are best

What, in your opinion, makes a writer one of “the greats?”

A great writer is meek, and isn’t afraid to stop and smell the roses for fear of being odd or too emotional.

What types of characters do you find yourself relating to more than others when reading?

I find myself relating more with the underdog. The person that happens to always be in turmoil at the hands of others.

Are there books that you find yourself revisiting? (Either in your mind or literally picking up the book
to reread it again and again).

Definitely The Wedding

Has a book ever brought you to tears? If so, what book and why?

The Notebook brought me to tears, because it was so relateable, in that young love sometimes can never go away.

Do you ever find yourself more connected with the darker characters/antagonists in the books you
read?

There were times I connected more with a darker character. An example of this would be Christian in Where Were You. He wasn’t necessarily dark, but he had some tendencies that some would consider dark.

If you could introduce two characters from two different books you have read, who would they be and
why?

I would introduce Jane Wilson (The Wedding) because she is such a trooper. She is married to someone that has betrayed her countless times, but it did not bring her to ruins. She rose above it all. Another character I would introduce would be Diana Foster  (Remember When) She is another courageous woman who always tried to herd her family in the right direction.

What is one book you wish you could see on the big screen? What books, in your opinion, were better as books, not so much movies?

I think Of Mice and Men was better as a book than a movie. It was harder to follow on the screen

 Think of your favorite book (or one of your favorites):

What songs would you consider the perfect play list for this/these book(s)? Notebook… song: Love and War or Nuclear by Destiny’s Child

If you could star in the movie adaptation of your favorite book, who would your co-stars be? Co Stars would be Morris Chestnut,

Nicole Kidman and Will Smith

Bonus question: What is the quirkiest thing about you as a creative soul?!

I like exploring multiple meanings of single words

Please be sure and visit amazon, where Donesha’s debut poetry book, Roses from Stones is currently available!

Roses From Stones

(image at top of page is from imageafter.com)

7 comments
  1. My son loves to play with words that have multiple meanings… makes for interesting conversation sometimes. 🙂

  2. Cool interview. Haven’t heard this book before but will check it out.

    • It’s a really beautiful book. Thanks so much for stopping by!

    • I am hearing this a lot, lately. I guess the so-called convenience of reading via phone applications or readers is sort of losing its popularity.

    • I’m torn (as far as hardback vs ebooks). But I love to read and write on my phone …
      Thank you so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

