Week 10 – The Next Best Thing

“The next big thing” is like a game of tag for authors (although I was unable to tag any other authors in time for my day).

Nonetheless, I am excited to share a few questions and answers — feel free to chime in.

What is the working title of your book?

The book I am preparing for my editor is entitled Just Beneath the Surface II.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

About six or seven years ago, I wrote Just Beneath the Surface I and Just Beneath the Surface II. At that time (and to this day) I was determined to give characters, some dark and very troubled, unique voices that anyone could relate to.

Both books deal heavily with abuse, are very raw, but my hope is that someone will be touched and know that they are not alone in this world. I wanted to shed light on serious issues, through believable, flawed characters.

What genre does your book fall under?

There are many elements and layers — suspense, drama and much more. But if I had to pick one genre, drama.

 Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Love this question!!!

Seven: a young Dorothy Dandridge

Nicolette: Reagan Preston Gomez

Landon’s Mother, Brynn: Kimberly Elise

Landon’s brother, Petey: Anthony Mackie

Landon’s younger brother, Jonathan: Jaden Smith

Maurice: Mos Def

Landon’s father: Don Cheedle

Landon:  a young Larenz Tate

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

As his soft stoic surface faces intrusion, his old self is relinquished to paranoia and Landon’s world is threatened by the recurring nightmare he thought he had left behind.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My book will be self-published.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Because it was originally written so long ago, I am not completely sure. Except for my latest novel (which is now almost four hundred pages) I generally finish writing my rough draft in six to nine months.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That is always very difficult question for me. With all of my writing, I have not had as much time to read. Any family saga, appealing to all genders, races and ages; that is where Just Beneath the Surface II fits in.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I am inspired by people who are hurting and need to feel, if only for a moment, that what they are going through is real — and most importantly, they are not alone.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

A reader’s interest will be piqued by following Landon’s story; the way he starts out, his breaking point and the obvious question, which is: Will he ever escape the nightmare?

Leave a Reply

