Taking care of Earth: Baby steps

Pleasant One:  ode to Earth

by Donesha Thompson

Radiate me,  oh pleasant One
Nourish me with your gentleness

It gives me such joy to surround myself with what You have sowed

My eyes, they gaze over flats of Dutch Amaryllas, Alpinias and Birds of Paradise

So peaceful they are

For my eyes, You have put them there, why else would they exist?

It is my responsibility to protect them

Everything that surrounds and is bound to them

Without my help, they can wither away; I will be more content if they stay

What can I do to make sure they are never obsolete?

A new concept has risen

I can rally my kind to show appreciation for the pleasant One that nourishes me

To preserve the appendages of the gentle One

Let us then, throw away our trash, and be a little kinder to the Earth which supplies our air for free.

by

Donesha Thompson

******

My Dear Earth,

As a child, I was much more aware of you. I was much more in tune with the whispers of your winds. I dropped my umbrella and enjoyed the tickle of your mist. I rushed to the backyard to play in the warmth of your sunshine. Most of all, my favorite thing to do: to bundle up like a marshmallow, and wander about in the quiet of  your snowflakes.

baby steps

As a little one, I learned to turn off the water while brushing my teeth. I was eager to pick up trash,  “stop the litter bugs,” recycle and participate in earth day.

Now,  I wonder why as an adult, I no longer make time to stop and smell your sweet roses and honeysuckle. With my bare feet, I want to feel your grass so soft, so supple and serene.

I want to gaze down at my reflexion in hidden ponds, run my fingers over the ripples of your water. I want to remember the way, while sitting in the shadow of your trees, you made sure and send a breeze that seemed to be just for me. Because now, I am in such a hurry, that I no longer make it a necessity to stop and keep you pure.

We have been blessed with you; yet we do not always take the time to reciprocate your graciousness. With your subtle and not so subtle cries, I am slow to take heed, but as I imagine life without the simple pleasures and great wonders, I finally hear you.

If a stranger came into my home, and threw his garbage on my floor, what would I do?

If my own child dropped her trash on the floor, what would I say?

If the water in my faucet were filled with empty bottles or waste, what would my reaction be?

As I gauge my reaction to the pollution of the home I have been blessed with, I could do better about my reaction to the pollution of the world I call home.

I wish I could promise you an immediate change. I wish I could tell you I am ready to give you one hundred percent. I will not lie; I am ready to do my part, but I only know how to take baby steps.

I have to start somewhere, therefore, I vow, Earth, to take baby steps.
Here are some simple tips (many of them are from an awesome site called simplemom.net) :

  • Make time to spend more time outdoors, whether exercising, meditating, listening to music, visiting with friends, writing in your journal

This may become a positive habit and something that we look forward to, causing us to become more aware of the peace fresh air brings.

  • back to basics: think of the simple things we learned as children.

Things like turning of the water while brushing our teeth (using less water in general whenever possible)

  • Recycling
  • How about a reusable water bottle, instead of expensive plastic water bottles
  • turn your computer (completely) off at night
  • stop unsolicited mail
  • pay your bills online
  • Plant trees!!!

savvybrown.com

practicalenvironmentalist.com

simplemom.net

http://www.sofreshandsogreen.com/

The visual:

eco-friendly-mama

go green go

homemaker-mom.com

For GREAT money saving tips: mindyourdecisions.com

If anyone has made huge strides toward protecting our Earth and has tips to share with those of us who are making babysteps, please share. If anyone is new to making conscious efforts toward protecting Earth, please share your ideas as well!

25“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?

26“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? 28And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29

3 comments
  1. Donesha said:

    It is so funny how simple words can change the routine and thoughts of a person. Just today while driving in my car…in a rush to get to my destination(not really thinking) I started to throw a piece of gum out of the window. Yes… a mere piece of gum. Then I thought of our mission Rhonda, and how we are striving to make a difference in some way. So I rolled my gum up into a piece of paper to throw it away in the trash later, once I got home. As minute as someone may think that this is, I thought that it is huge, because big endings start with small beginnings. Its the baby steps : ) In addition, I learned that gum is not as biodegradeable as we may think. It sticks around for a while!! I like to think of the world as a place that we can all take care of together. Each person doing their part will reap great benefits, and if not, we know that we tried.

    • I learn something new every day. And every day, there’s always that one thing that brings you the smile you need. Thanks for sharing the new info, and for planting this idea in my head; you helped me see things differently!!! I’m excited about what I’m learning and applying these “baby steps” …
      and…
      Just so people know, this is actually all Mrs Donesha Thompson’s idea and passion for appreciating what we’ve all been blessed with, and I’m really really happy to be a part of it…

      • Donesha said:

        You are right! We learn something new everyday. Glad to be a part of “baby steps” with you.

Leave a Reply

