RH Ramsey interview

Hello all,

Please take a look at my new interview with Reviewfromhere.com. Here is a tiny bit of information about me as a writer. Feel free to comment and share your personal rituals when you are working toward finishing an article or book.

http://reviewfromhere.com/?s=rh+ramsey

Do you have any rituals you follow when finishing a piece of work?

When I am working on a book, from the outside looking in, it probably looks like complete chaos. I am probably working on finishing two books at once. I am probably not planning, and I am probably going on two or three nights without sleep.

The only time I have any sort of organization or ritual, is when I am stumped. And normally, the ending is not the trouble spot; the beginning is.

When I have a case of writer’s block, I sit down, and work chapter by chapter – sentence by sentence, using my phone to jot down ideas.

But first, I have to figure out what the conflict will be, and where it came from. I want to figure out how the conflict will be addressed. How the main character(s) will handle this conflict. How the conflict will be discussed in dialogue. I will go over it again, and again, until it seems realistic. Then finally, I will email it to myself one last time, put the challenging chapter in my book, and leap for joy!

read more

Leave a Reply

