Beautiful Quotes on literacy, imagination and more …

In browsing and searching quotes for one of the books I am editing, I thoroughly enjoyed reading and re-reading this: “Never limit yourself because of others’ limited imagination; never limit others because of your own limited imagination.” ~Mae Jemison 

From there, I continued searching quotes and poems about imagination and reading. I also decided to share several more quotes, and hopefully you, too will find inspiration, smiles, or a spark to get you through those lovely moments of writers’ block!

Enjoy!

***

“Poetry is life distilled” ~ Gwendolyn Brooks

“Art hurts. Art urges voyages – and it is easier to stay at home” ~Gwendolyn Brooks

“You’ve got to get to the stage in life where going for it is more important than winning or losing. ” ~ Arthur Ashe

“Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.” ~Maya Angelou

Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave, I am the dream and the hope of the slave.  I rise.  I rise.  I rise.  ~Maya Angelou, “Still I Rise,” And Still I Rise
“My mother said I must always be intolerant of ignorance but understanding of illiteracy. That some people, unable to go to school, were more educated and more intelligent than college professors.” ~ Maya Angelou

“Education is the key to unlock the golden door of freedom.”~ George Washington Carver

“If there’s a book you really want to read but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.- Toni Morrison” ~Sean Liburd

“Books were my pass to personal freedom. I learned to read at age three, and soon discovered there was a whole world to conquer that went beyond our farm in Mississippi.”~ Oprah Winfrey

 

 

More Quotes:

 teachhub.com

goodreads.com

2 comments
    • I just checked it out!!! You sure did; love it. Thanks so much for stopping by :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,748 other followers