Bookworm’s Nook

Bookworm’s Nook:

an avid reader’s perspective

Hello and welcome, Laura!

Would you like to share a bit about yourself?

My name is Laura Wright LaRoche and I’m an author. My published books include Two Sisters: prattle tales of playful girls, Broken Soul, and Black Woods: Book 1.

The 2nd in the Black Woods series is with the editor now, and I’m working on a Sci-Fi fantasy. My website is www.llpix.com where I list my stories and cover creations for other authors.

What is your favorite thing about reading?

Reading is an escape from everyday life. I love to explore around the world and different cultures, all inside a book.

What are your favorite genres and why?

My favorite genre is Thriller. I love to read books that get my heart pumping, and then yell at the characters for doing something stupid that might get them killed. It’s all part of the genre!

Do you prefer paperback books, e-books or both? Why?

I love paperbacks. The feel of the pages turning and slamming it shut when it gets too intense. Nothing like dogearing those favorite pages.

What, in your opinion, makes a writer one of “the greats?”

Just having the guts to publish and expose your work to the world is one of the greatest traits a person could have. I think a great writer will hold your attention with the story in your preferred genre.

What types of characters do you find yourself relating to more than others when reading?

I tend to have a soft heart for the elderly or the outcast.

Are there books that you find yourself revisiting? (Either in your mind or literally picking up the book to reread it again and again).

Yes, the Blackwater series by Michael McDowell. I have reread them three times, and have been thinking of reading again.

Has a book ever brought you to tears? If so, what book and why?

Many books have so I will go with the latest. ‘So Cold the River’ by Michael Koryta. There is an elderly woman who dies at the end and it just broke my heart.

Do you ever find yourself more connected with the darker characters/antagonists in the books you read?

Sometimes if the story tends to make them more sympathetic.

If you could introduce two characters from two different books you have read, who would they be and why?

One character would be from my favorite childhood story called Miss Suzy. She is a little gray squirrel that is bullied from her home. The other would be Elinor Dammert (Caskey) from Blackwater, a character who should be feared and loved.

What is one book you wish you could see on the big screen? What books, in your opinion, were better as books, not so much movies?

I would love to see ‘So Cold the River’ on big screen! I would say I have read many books that were much better than the movie. Most of they were by Stephen King.

If you could star in the movie adaptation of your favorite book, who would your co-stars be?

Heck if I could be in a movie for any reason I would want Johnny Depp by my side!!

Bonus question: What is the quirkiest thing about you as a creative soul?!

One of the silliest things I like to do is go to a public parking lot or sit on a park bench and watch people. They are the best motivators on earth. A walking living canvas you can recreate in mind or on paper. Watch a man pick a flower and hand to his daughter, or two young boys fighting, or a love spat here in there. All entertainment in the eyes of the viewer.

Watch Laura’s ‘Black Woods’ Book trailer:

2012 Book Cover Designs by LLPix.com

2 comments
    • I enjoyed it, too. I love what she said about people being like walking living canvases .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,416 other followers